<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d21782146\x26blogName\x3dbonnieblog\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttps://bonniec9h4.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://bonniec9h4.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d-7399329827638461508', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

Thursday, February 09, 2006


The California League is a minor league baseball league which operates throughout the state of California. The modern league is classified as a High-A league, indicating its status as a Class A league with the highest level of competition within that classification. A High-A team is often the first promotion for a minor-league player. A few draftees, generally early-round draftees with college experience, will be assigned to a High-A team upon signing a professional contract. The league was founded in 1941, and contained teams in Anaheim, California, Bakersfield, California, Fresno, California, Merced, California, Riverside, California, San Bernardino, California, Santa Barbara, California and Stockton, California. The following year, as a result of World War II, the league dropped to four teams, then ceased operations altogether. It came back in 1946, adding teams in Visalia, California, San Jose, California and Ventura, California by 1947. Reno, Nevada joined the league in 1955 and continued as a member for 37 years. All of the current teams are playing in stadiums that have been built or extensively renovated since 1990. League attendance continues to increase each season, with over one million fans attending games per year. The league is divided into a North Division and a South Division.

Current member teams:

North Division
Bakersfield Blaze
Modesto Nuts
San Jose Giants
Stockton Ports
Visalia Oaks
South Division
High Desert Mavericks
Inland Empire 66ers of San Bernardino
Lake Elsinore Storm
Lancaster JetHawks
Rancho Cucamonga Quakes